07901 726419

info@waterhygienecard.co.uk

Home

Water Companies

Water Companies

Water Companies in the British isles.

Water Company Name and Website

The water companies keep changing their names due to frequent changes in ownership, it seems that each new owner wants to create their new corporate identity. Geographical names are still being dropped, famous water company names which have been consigned to history include North West Water and Three Valleys Water. The following list provides an up to date (June 2013) list of who’s who in the UK. These water companies will insist that you have a National Water Hygiene Card before visiting their sites.

Albion Water www.albionwater.co.uk
Established in 1999 Albion Water competes with the major water companies to provide water and wastewater services across the UK. As of April 2013 it is currently in a five year legal dispute with Welsh Water over water pricing.

Anglian Water Group (includes Hartlepool Water) www.anglianwater.co.uk
The largest water company in the UK by geographic area it supplies drinking water to an area bordered by the Humber, north of Grimsby, to Norwich, Colchester and Milton Keynes.

Company Logo for Affinity WaterAffinity Water www.affinitywater.co.uk
Affinity Water supplies drinking water to North West London and parts of the Home Counties. Since 2012 it has been owned by a consortium comprising Morgan Stanley and M&G (Prudential).

Bristol Water plc www.bristolwater.co.uk
Owned by three parties from Canada, Spain and Japan it supplies drinking water only to the Bristol area. It has a very good website that provides useful information on the Company’s performance.

Cambridge Water plc www.cambridge-water.co.uk
Supplying the famous University City and local surrounding areas.  In 2013 it became part of South Staffordshire Water PLC.

Cholderton & District Water Company  www.choldertonwater.co.uk
This is the smallest of the statutory water companies and it supplies less than 3,000 people on the Wiltshire / Hampshire border. It has two boreholes, three service reservoirs and 50km of supply pipes.

Dee Valley Water plc www.deevalleywater.co.uk
Supplies drinking water to over a quarter of a million people in the Chester and Wrexham areas of North West England and North East Wales. It draws 90% of its water from the River Dee and collects the rest in eight impounding reservoirs around Llandegla. It operates six water treatment works.

Dwr Cymru Welsh Water www.dwrcymru.co.uk
Welsh Water is owned by Glas Cymru a single purpose company with no shareholders and is run solely for the benefit of customers. Welsh Water is the sixth largest of the ten regulated water and sewerage companies in England and Wales. It is responsible for providing over three million people with drinking water.

Guernsey Water http://www.water.gg

Isle of Man Water http://www.gov.im/water

Isles of Scilly http://www.scilly.gov.uk

Jersey Water www.jerseywater.je

Northern Ireland Water www.niwater.com

Northumbrian Water Group plc (includes Essex & Suffolk Water) www.nwl.co.uk www.eswater.co.uk

Portsmouth Water Ltd www.portsmouthwater.co.uk

Scottish Water www.scottishwater.co.uk

Sembcorp Bournemouth Water www.sembcorpbw.co.uk

Severn Trent plc www.severntrent.com
Severn Trent Water provides water and sewerage services to 4.2 million households and businesses in the Midlands and mid-Wales. The service area stretches across the centre of the UK, from the Bristol Channel to the Humber and from mid-Wales to the East Midlands. In June 2013 the company was unsuccessfully targeted for takeover by overseas investors.

South East Water Ltd www.southeastwater.co.uk

South Staffordshire Water plc www.south-staffs-water.co.uk

South West Water Ltd – (Pennon Group plc) www.southwestwater.co.uk

Southern Water www.southernwater.co.uk
Supplies water to a ‘water stressed region’ including Kent, Sussex, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. It is owned by three funds, the Australian Future Fund, the US infrastructure fund UBS and the Hong Kong investment fund Sumaya.
Logo for Sutton and East Surrey Water
Sutton and East Surrey Water plc www.waterplc.com

Thames Water Ltd www.thameswater.co.uk
Thames Water is the largest UK water and wastewater service provider. It supplies drinking water to 9 million customers in the London and Thames Valley.

United Utilities plc www.unitedutilities.com
United Utilities supplies clean water to around 7 million people in the north west of England including the cities of Manchester, Liverpool and Preston. It remains one of the few water companies that still trades its shares on the London Stock Exchange and has been heavily tipped as a takeover target.

Wessex Water Services Ltd www.wessexwater.co.uk
Operating 110 water treatment works that supply 284 million litres of drinking water each day to 1.3 million customers. Owned by Malaysian power company YTL Power International.

Yorkshire Water Services Ltd (Kelda Group Ltd) www.yorkshirewater.com
Supplying 1.24 billion litres of drinking water each day sourced from 120 reservoirs. It is part of the Kelda Group of companies which delisted from the London Stock Exchange in 2008 following its acquisition by the infrastructure fund Saltaire Water. Saltaire Water is an incorporated consortium made up of Citigroup Alternative Investments, HSBC, GIC Special Investments – an investment arm of the Singapore Government and the Prudential Group.

Clients

United Utilities logoCovidien logo imageAtkins logo

Copyright © 2017 for Achieve Safety Ltd Water Hygiene Card. All rights reserved.